Report 1

APPENDIX 4 - STRUCTURE OF NCEPOD

The National Confidential Enquiry into Patient Outcome and Death (NCEPOD) is an independent body to which a corporate commitment has been made by the Medical and Surgical Royal Colleges, Associations and Faculties related to its area of activity. Each of these bodies nominates members on to NCEPOD's Steering Group.

Steering Group

Dr M Nathanson	Association of Anaesthetists
Mr M Lansdown	Association of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland
Mr K Altman	Faculty of Dental Surgery, Royal College of Surgeons of
Mr S Barasi	Lay Representative
Ms S Payne	Lay Representative
Dr J C Carey	Royal College of Anaesthetists
Dr K Ramachandran	Royal College of Anaesthetists
Dr J Butler	Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine
Dr G Barnett	Royal College of Emergency Medicine
Dr A Tavare	Royal College of General Practitioners
Dr N Ashby	Royal College of Nursing
Mr T Hillard	Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists
Mr W Karwatowski	Royal College of Ophthalmologists
Dr I Doughty	Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health
Dr L Igali	Royal College of Pathologists
Mr M McKirdy	Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow
Dr M Jones	Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh
Dr H Skene	Royal College of Physicians of London
Dr A Gibson	Royal College of Physicians of London
Dr M Kumwenda	Royal College of Physicians of London
Dr J Carlile	Royal College of Psychiatrists
Prof R McWilliams	Royal College of Radiologists
Miss A Paisley	Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh
Mr J Abercrombie	Royal College of Surgeons of England
Miss S Vig	Royal College of Surgeons of England

Observers

Dr D Sharpstone

Coroners' Society of England and Wales

Trustees

Mr I C Martin – Chair Dr D Mason – Honorary Treasurer Ms J Barber Professor T J Hendra Dr J Greaves

NCEPOD is a company, limited by guarantee (Company number: 3019382) and a registered charity (Charity number: 1075588)

Company Secretary Dr M Mason

Clinical Co-ordinators

The Steering Group appoint a Lead Clinical Co-ordinator for a defined tenure. In addition there are 8 Clinical Co- ordinators who work on each study. All Co-ordinators are engaged in active academic/clinical practice (in the NHS) during their term of office.

Lead Clinical Co-ordinator: Dr V Srivastava (Medicine) Clinical Co-ordinators: Dr K Wilkinson (Anaesthesia) Dr M Juniper (Medicine) Dr A P L Goodwin (Anaesthesia) Mr M Sinclair (Surgery) Dr S McPherson (Interventional Radiology) Dr M Allsopp (Adolescent Psychiatry) Dr A Michalski (Paediatric Oncology)

Lay Representatives

NCEPOD has a number of lay representatives who assist in all aspects of NCEPOD's work. Alice Joy | Ron Newall |Sharon North | Hayley Topping | Nigel Buck | Constantinos Regas

Commissioning and supporting organisations The Clinical Outcome and Review Programme into Medical and Surgical Care is commissioned by the Healthcare Quality Improvement Partnership (HQIP) on behalf of NHS England, NHS Wales, the Health and Social care division of the Scottish Government, the Northern Ireland Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (DHSSPS), the States of Jersey, the Bailiwick of Guernsey, and the Isle of Man.

Members of the Child Health Clinical Outcome Review Programme Independent Advisory Group Stuart Logan | Claire Lemer | Sarah Bridges Jacqueline Cornish | Brian Godfrey | Linda Partridge Heather Payne | Paul Ramchandani | Maggie Rogers | Prakash Thiagarajan | Verena Wallace Jayne Wheway | Dick Churchill | Susan Gallacher Odette Burgess | Carolyn Wilson

Members of the HQIP team Mirek Skrypak | Sue Latchem |Sarah Walker